The Infant Car Seat

07Jul08

Okay, this is the first product-related post, so I’ll tell you what to expect here in general. I am not going to do competitive reviews or discuss with you the merits of several models when I discuss purchase decisions. I’ll just tell you what I picked, the top three reasons why, and maybe throw a few tips in. And I’ll follow up with a separate post if something goes wrong with the product. Believe me, I’ll have done the research – I use Consumer Reports and Baby Bargains, word-of-mouth, and a fully functioning forebrain. If you want more detail, access those resources yourself – I bet most of the time you’ll come to the same conclusions that I do. If not, you are either living a very different lifestyle or you just aren’t as smart as me.

For those of you just joining us, that was a joke. Anyway, car seats.

The car seat is your first window into the culture of fear that the industry creates around raising children. I don’t blame the industry; it’s a good way to make money.

I know I don’t want my kid to die or to be fat or stupid. That pretty much sums up all the marketing from the baby companies. If you don’t buy their product, one of those things will happen. Obviously it’s not true, but it’s likely someone in your family will buy in, and you need to select things that answer that without breaking the bank unnecessarily. Guess what? Every car seat on the US market is safe.

Chicco Keyfit

The Chicco Keyfit was my choice because:

  1. It’s the easiest to load in the car and know when it’s locked. There’s a loud click and a one-button release that at the store was simpler to use than the rest of them.
  2. It’s known as very easy to fit into a wide variety of cars. My friend told me that it was the only one that would fit easily into his little BMW and it was indeed easy to pop into our 4Runner.
  3. It fits a variety of universal seat carriers. What are those? The things you pop the car seat onto to push around in the first 6 months, since most strollers don’t allow you to put the bugger in there until after then. You do NOT need to buy the full Chicco system or any other manufacturer’s system. I was told by the very knowledgeable guy at BuyBuyBaby that those “systems” are just packaged like that to make it easier for people to pick things off the shelf in big box retail stores – and you end up spending more on each component than necessary.  Update 8/23/08:  The downside on the Kolcraft carrier we bought is that it’s a bit too short for my 6’3″ stride, although my 5’2″ wife is fine with it.   I have to walk next to it instead of behind it so I won’t step on it or look like I have a limp.  That’s fine since I’m usually walking the dog at the same time.  But if you’re over six feet, you might want to test-walk these.  Sorry I didn’t get that part right the first time.

Once it comes time to install this thing in month 8, you will be horrified by how difficult people make it seem. Although you’d think you were smart for knowing car seats use latches to install, you are actually stupid because the system is called LATCH, which stands for Despite Your College Degree You Aren’t Smart Enough To Understand How To Buckle Something. Oh wait, it might not stand for that. But it seems like that.

The information at http://www.car-seat.org on best vehicle fits and positions for the seat is totally comprehensive, although the scary people on the forums will certainly remind you at every opportunity that unless an accredited professional has checked your car seat, your child will probably die. Again, although I doubted this and it took about 2 minutes to install mine, I worriedly pored over the instructions a third and fourth time and scheduled an appointment with our local police officer in charge of inspecting car seat installations. I hear the man is “passionate.” Should be fun.



13 Responses to “The Infant Car Seat”

  1. 1 Liz Rice

    1

  2. 2 conductingmasterclass

    There was concern about chemical smell, did you have this problem?
    The amazon reviewer talks about his problem with the chemical smell.

  3. 3 blakely

    Mine has a chemical smell coming from the car seat cover after 3 months of use. Washed it, but it is still there. I plan on calling Chicco soon. Most likely from the fire retardant.

  4. Modern diet followers don’t have to get out of your fat-and-sugar riddled food plan to diet recipes, you can eat anything you want. Food is not an emergency. Chan P, Tomlinson B, Chen YJ. DigestionGhee is also the fat that is highest in America–also the country with the highest whole-grain consumption were 19 percent less likely to reach for processed foods. The diet calls for a lot of fat, above butter.

  5. 5 Hugh

    The Page Rank is used to” engage users” — one that should result
    in pay per click click-throughs and desired actions.

  6. First of all I would like to say great blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or tips? Thanks!

  7. It is not my first time to go to see this site, i am visiting
    this web site dailly and obtain pleasant facts
    from here daily.

  8. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect
    against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any recommendations?

  9. Excellent pieces. Keep writing such kind of info on your page.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You’ve done a great job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

  10. Excellent weblog here! Additionally your web site lots up very
    fast! What web host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your associate link for your host?
    I wish my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  11. Excellent site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find excellent writing
    like yours these days. I seriously appreciate individuals like you!

    Take care!!

  12. Simply want to say your article is as surprising. The clearness to
    your post is simply great and i could suppose you’re a professional on this subject.
    Well along with your permission let me to clutch your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please carry on the gratifying
    work.

  13. You could certainly see your expertise in the work you write.

    The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid
    to say how they believe. All the time go after your heart.


Leave a comment