Yes, sir. Of course I respect safety, sir.

12Jul08
This is who knocks on your door if you dont respect the car seat check appointment booking procedures.

This is who knocks on your door if you don't respect the car seat check appointment booking procedures.

I just got a call back from the local police officer who runs the car seat safety check. (You can find yours here.)

I had left a message on his voicemail according to instructions that had been listed there a previous week – to call “midday” on a certain day this month. I think I called at like 12:30 or 1.

When Officer Carseat called me back, he was all business. He let me know that I had been caller number 30 or so, a ridiculously late entry in this elite but essential race to safety, and that unfortunately, I would have to wait until the next month.

I told him I thought it was okay since it was still five weeks out and there would likely be like four car rides for the bugger in the next two months, and that I’m sure seeing him in August would be fine. There was a bit of a pause that made me feel he doubted my commitment to my child’s survival. I chuckled nervously.

I think he was wearing mirrored aviator glasses and the chuckle made him yank them off abruptly.

He barked orders at me – set an appointment with myself to call the number on a particular day in August at 12:01PM. If I did that, I could probably get within the top ten. I let him know that I appreciated his great mercy and wisdom, as is always a good idea to do with any suburban police officer.

In reality, I appreciate that this man is basically doing a public service entirely on his own – this isn’t provided by our local police department but is totally his donation of his time.

But that was a weird phone call. I felt like I got pulled over while sitting on my couch.

One Response to “Yes, sir. Of course I respect safety, sir.”

  1. Wow, I didn’t know about that until now. Thanx.


Leave a Reply

